Medicare is the federal health insurance for individuals 65 years or older, individuals under 65 with certain disabilities, and individuals of any age with end-stage renal disease.  Medicare is funded by payroll deductions during an individual’s working career and premiums paid through automatic deductions from social security benefits.  Medicare is divided into four categories.

Part A  Hospital Insurance

Part B  Medical Insurance

Part C  Medicare Advantage Plans

Part D  Medical Prescription Drug Coverage

The best resource for Medicare information is found on the government website Medicare.Gov.

Leave a Reply